Just a Foodie In KC

Life is too short to eat bad food!

Upper Crust Pie Bakery December 5, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — krisesch @ 12:04 am

pie 1
It was my birthday and I wanted a birthday treat…I mean I deserved and wanted a birthday treat. (My justification skills are legendary) Luckily the day I decided that I was due this treat happened to be a Friday. On Friday’s in the basement at Pryde’s Old Westport, the Upper Crust Pie Bakery sets up shop. So in my heart of hearts I decided I wanted PIE!

Years ago I had a cousin who got married and instead of a wedding cake they had various pies. I have to tell you not only was it unique it was pretty spectacular. Everyone has cake why not eat pie! I think there should be a movement to have this happen at more weddings. Pie is nostalgic. Pie has so many flavors. Pie is just downright American.
pie 2
I like to bake but making the perfect pie crust for me is intimidating. It is one of those things that you either knock out of the park or it is just kind of there as a vehicle to help deliver the pie filling to your mouth. My foodie friend thinks pie crust is a snap but I guess my gift apparently is eating the pie and not making the pie. For great pie it needs a great crust and a great filling. They are the peanut butter and jelly of the pie world. There are a few great places to score pie here in Kansas City. Believe me when I say I have taken one for the team and sampled quite a few.

The original Upper Crust Pie Bakery is located in Old Overland Park. If you have not been to this area it is a fun place to shop and if you happen to be a foodie the fact that Penzey’s is on the same street is a win win situation. I must admit I rarely make it to the Overland Park area. Luck for me on Friday and Saturday I can score pie at Pryde’s Old Westport. Speaking of Pryde’s this is another great place to shop. It is not only locally owned but has been in business since 1968. The store is located in Westport and It is a treasure trove jam packed with everything you could think of for your kitchen and bar needs. In the basement of Pryde’s on Fridays and Saturdays the Upper Crust opens a pop up shop and sells the most delicious pies. Their motto is “Pie Fixes Everything”….why yes it does and who am I to argue with such wise words?

They have a great assortment of mini pies. I am sure in reality these pies are meant to be shared but in my mind I decided to think of it as a “personal pie”. This is what I like to call new math. Last time I checked there is no Pie Police so however big you think a slice of pie should be works for me.
pie 3

So many flavors to choose from but in the end I went with Bumbleberry and my other half went with French cream. I have to also mention they do some pretty spectacular tasting cookies as well.
pie 4

http://www.uppercrustpiebakery.com/

Overland Park
7943 Santa Fe
Overland Park, KS
913-642-2999

Westport
115 Westport Rd.
Kansas City, MO
816-561-4990

http://prydeskitchen.com/

 

One Response to “Upper Crust Pie Bakery”

  1. Jean Kaiser Says:

    I love pie too!


Leave a comment