Just a Foodie In KC

Life is too short to eat bad food!

Pigwich….OH MY! April 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — krisesch @ 3:01 am

trailer
I must start this off by saying I am an Alex Pope fan. He is the Chef who owns Local Pig, the charcuterie I wrote about earlier. I am a fan of Alex Pope because I think he is a really inventive Chef, and I think the Local Pig idea was a genius idea for the KC Market. The last time I ate Chef Pope’s food, my foodie friend and I bought tickets (that were not cheap eats by any stretch) to eat in a barn up at Green Dirt Farms. From that dinner I decided that I like air conditioning, and my friend decided she did not like head cheese. Now with the success of Local Pig, Chef Pope has opened a stationary food truck with a limited menu adjacent to the butcher shop.

So off we went to sample Pigwich and my friend (the one that hates head cheese) met us there. Tonight I had a sandwich that blew me away, and currently will take the top spot off all sandwiches in KC. The smoked bologna at Remedy must step down and make way for THE CHEESESTEAK! Now this is not a traditional style philly…if you want that, go to Grinders they do a bang up job. This is a pumped up cheesesteak and it is messy and good..no it is great! You have to order it like it is. I ordered mine without peppers however I was told it came with peppers and onions and I am glad it did. They were carmelized and mixed in with the cheese and the meat..honestly it leaves me without words it was that good. All the sandwiches are served with homemade chips and they are a perfect side. I have to say it again….WOW!
philly

My other half of course continued his burger quest and enjoyed a double cheeseburger topped with arugula and pickled onions.
popeburg

My Foodie Friend tried the Bahn Mi which gets her that much closer to a culinary adventure in Vietnam she wants to take.
bahn

They also have a special sandwich that changes every day so I will have to go back and try the Rueban. I know Chef Pope makes his own sauerkraut so I can’t wait to try it. All the sandwiches come with chips and drink for $8.00. Take cash because Pigwich does not accept plastic….however when you are done eating you can take your plastic inside. Tonight I came out with bone in chops, chicken pot pie and some sausage to stock my freezer with. Pigwich and Local Pig both have Facebook pages if you want to check them out as well

P.S. I don’t like head cheese either

http://thelocalpig.com/

 

Leave a comment