Just a Foodie In KC

Life is too short to eat bad food!

Pot Pie April 22, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — krisesch @ 10:59 am

To say I am thrilled that the revitalization of Westport has become such a dining hot spot is an understatement. Now we have entire area filled with locally owned restaurants and drinking establishments that just a few years ago was dying a slow death. That cake is iced by most of these places utilize some of the great Chefs that call this city home.

Pot Pie has been around since 2003 and it has been on my short list to try. It so happens that recently my other half was watching “Diners Drive Ins and Dives” and they featured this establishment on their program. That caused this restaurant to move to the top of the “to try list”

Pot Pie is located on the west end of Westport right next to Blue Stem. It is a very small and cozy establishment so if you are dining there for dinner, reservations are probably a good idea. The menu is located on a chalk board mounted to the wall. They have two pot pies on the menu along with other items to choose from. Since the establishment is called Pot Pie it only makes sense that is what my other half ordered. You have a choice between a beef and mushroom pot pie or a chicken pot pie. He chose the beef and mushroom and had there been one piece of bread left on the table I can assure you he would have used it to sop up every bit of goodness from the plate. When it is served it looks alarmingly huge, however there is quite a bit of head room between the crust and the goodness so he had no problem devouring it. I took a bite of the crust and it was certainly one of the most flaky crusts I have ever tasted. He said it reminded him of a rich stew.
pot pie

I chose two things. The first being the spinach and brie tart. Basically it is a lightly dressed spinach and brie salad placed in a tart shell. In all honesty you can keep the tart shell and just give me that salad because it was delicious. The tart shell was more of a holder than something I wanted or needed to eat. The spinach was perfectly dressed and the slices of brie were more than generous. Let me tell you …I love brie. I love it any way it is served, and when I get brie I want BRIE I don’t want just a tease of brie. This salad was perfect. If you have never eaten brie believe me when I say you are missing out of something fantastic in life. ( P.S. Go buy some brie!)

spin tart

I also ordered steamed mussels which I try ordering almost everywhere in KC. They were good but did not blow me away. The mussels themselves were on the smallish side and many did not open, but the broth was pretty spectacular. I generally try to avoid bread but I without hesitation used every piece of bread within reach to soak up that delicious broth. This being the reason my other half was not able to locate any bread.

musssels

Pot Pie
904 Westport Road
Kansas City, MO 64111

816-561-2702

http://www.kcpotpie.com/index.php

 

2 Responses to “Pot Pie”

  1. Leslie Lowe Says:

    After it was reviewed on Diners, Drive In’s & Dives, we checked it out too. I have to concur with EVERYTHING you wrote. Amazing food in an area that was certainly on it’s last leg. I am glad that this part of KC is being revitalized with local business. Keep the blogs coming…..Blue Stem?

    • krisesch Says:

      Bluetem is Chef Colby and Chef Megan Garrelts restaurant. They also own Rye. He is a James Beard award winner as well as a multiple nominees. It is currently closed for renovations.


Leave a comment